Using TM Administration perspective

Using TM Administration perspective, users can view, edit and update both local and remote translation memories. Find below the procedures for the following tasks:

Updating TM Administration preferences

To update TM Administration preferences:

  1. Open Wordfast Pro 3 and click .
    The TM Administration perspective appears.


  2. Click Edit > Preferences.
    The TM Administration dialog box appears.


  3. Update the preferences as required. The TM Administration preferences are:



    Connect first TM automatically at startup

    Select checkbox to view the TM content for the first TM in the TM Servers list.

    Ignore case for mark options

    Ignore case for all mark options, except Mark TUs containing tags.

    Maximum segments that can be retrieved at a time

    Enter the number of segments that you wish to view at a time.

    Changed target color

    Click on the color box and choose a color to represent edited TM content.

    Ut tag color

    Click on the color box and choose a color to represent tags.

    Keyword match highlight color

    Click on the color box and choose a color to represent keyword search match.


Connecting to a remote TM

  1. Open Wordfast Pro 3 and click .
    The TM Administration perspective appears.


  2. Right-click the TM.
    To connect only, select Connect.
    To connect as an administrator, Connect as Admin.

    The TM Admin password dialog box appears. To update a remote TM, it is necessary to have an admin password. .


  3. Enter the Admin password, and click OK.

Modifying TM content

To modify TM content:

  1. Double-click a TM server on the left pane or select a TM and click .
    The TM content appears in the right pane.

  2. Select or double-click the segment that you wish to modify.
    The segment is selected and highlighted in pink. You can change the color by updating the TM Administration preferences.

  3. Type the new translation and click .
    If the remote TM does not include an administrative password, the following dialog box appears.

  4. Click OK or close the dialog box.
    The remote TM connection is initiated.

Purging private TUs

TM administrators can purge private TUs as part of the cleanup process.

  1. Connect to a remote TM as Admin as explained in Connecting to a remote TM.
    The TM content appears.

  2. Click Purge Private TUs on the toolbar,

    or click TM Content > Purge Private TUs.

    The Purge Private TUs dialog box appears.

  3. Enter the workgroup ID and the TM name.

    The Purging TUs message appears.

    The private TUs are purged from the remote TM.

Adding an administrative password

When updating a remote TM, you must ensure the Administrative Password is entered in the Add TM or Edit TM dialog box.
To add an administrative password:

  1. Go to the Edit menu and click Preferences or press F9.
    The Preferences (Filtered) dialog box appears.

  2. Go to Translations > Translation Memory > TM List.

  3. Click Add TM to add a new remote TM and enter the Administrative Password.
    Select an existing remote TM and click Edit TM to enter the Password.
    An example is shown below.


Finding and Replacing Translation Units (TUs)

You can find and replace TUs within a TM using the find and replace option.


To find and replace TUs:

  1. Double-click a TM server on the left pane
    Select a TM and click .
    The TM content appears in the right pane.

  2. Click TM Content > Find/Replace or press Ctrl+F.
    The Find/Replace dialog box appears.


  3. Type the content in the Find and Replace with fields.

  4. Enable the following options, if required:


    to find and replace...



    content after of the cursor location.


    content before of the cursor location.



    source segments only.


    target segments only.

    Source and Target

    both source and target segments.


    Case sensitive

    content with matching case.

    Whole word

    whole words only.

    Wrap search

    starting from and returning to the start location.

  5. Click Find to find the first instance of the content or click Replace All to replace all instances.

  6. Click Replace/Find to replace the searched content and find the next instance or click Replace to replace the searched content only.

Merging local translation memories (TMs)

To merge local TMs:

  1. Double-click a TM server in the left pane.
    Select a TM and click .

  2. Click TM Content > Merge TM or .
    The Select TM to merge dialog box appears.

  3. Select the local TM to merge and click Open.
    The Merge TM options appear.


  4. Select one of the Merge TM options and click OK.
    The two local TMs are merged and the following confirmation message appears.

    : Ensure that the source and target language codes of the both the local TMs to be merged match. If not the following error message appears.

Deleting Translation Units (TUs)

To delete TUs:

  1. Select the checkbox to select TUs as shown in the screenshot below.


  2. Click TM Content > Delete or click or press Alt+D on the keyboard. A confirmation message appears:


  3. To delete the TUs click Yes. To cancel the operation click No.
    The selected TM is updated.

Marking Translation Units (TUs)

You can select TUs based on different criteria to edit them.

To mark TUs:

  1. Double-click a TM server on the left pane or select a TM and click .

  2. Click TM Content > Mark and choose one of the options or click the Mark TUs icon as shown in the screenshot below.


  3. Select one of the options.
    A confirmation message appears.
    The Mark Same Source TUs option results in the following message:

    The Mark TUs containing tags option results in the following message:


  4. Click Yes, to sort the marked TUs and display it on top of the TM Content panel.
    : The first TU in the group of redundant TUs will not be checked. The remaining redundant TUs are checked, allowing for easy viewing and deleting of TUs.

Removing all tags from selected Translation Units (TUs)

  1. Select the TU(s) from which you want to remove tags.


  2. Click TM Content> Remove All Tags.
    Click  on the TM Admin toolbar.
    The tags are removed from the selected segment(s).
    To remove tags from all segments, select all segments.

Searching TUs

To search for a term or word within a TU:

  1. Click the Search drop-down menu to select Source, Target, or Source and Target.

  2. Enter the term to be searched in the search box.

  3. Check Case to specify if the term is case-sensitive.

  4. Check Exact to restrict the search to exact matches.

  5. Enter Creator to search by creator of the term.

  6. Click Attribute to search by attribute added to the TXML file.

  7. Specify the From and To dates for terms that were modified w/in a certain time period.

  8. Click Search.
    An example of a completed search is provided below.