Translating a file

This section describes the steps for translating a TXML file when there are no TMs available for leverage. After entering the new translation for a file, you can save the translation to a new TM, which can be leveraged at a later stage.


To translate a file:

  1. Follow the steps to open a file from section Opening a file.
    The file appears in the Translation window. The first translatable segment will appear in a blue background, and your cursor will be in the target segment by default. Go to Enabling translation options for information on enabling and disabling different translation options.

    : The tags in the source segment are marked in grey. For example, {ut1}. These tags should be either copied and pasted or typed into the target segment. They should not be edited or deleted.
    Segment IDs from the same paragraph appear in gray, but are segmented according to the Segmentation preferences.

  2. Type the target segment.
    The typed target segment will appear in a pink background as shown in the screenshot below.

    the source characters and the target are counted in the Status bar, under the TM Lookup window: If a maximum character length has been set, segments or block/paragraph exceeding the maximum show the count in red.
    In the example below, the character count of the source segment is 74-74, where the first 74 is the segment character count, and the second 74 is the block/paragraph, character count.
    The character count of the target segment and block or paragraph is 84-84.
    The maximum length for the target segment is N/A. No maximum length was set.
    The block or paragraph count is set to 50 characters, exceeding the maximum length by 34 characters. The block/paragraph count appears in red.
    For more information, go to Adding an Excel Filter.

  3. Select Translation Memory > Next Segment or click or press Alt+Down.
    The typed target segment is saved to the TM and the cursor moves to the next segment.

    : If you need help creating or opening a TM, go to Creating or opening a TM. To update translation memory with new content, ensure the TM has Read only check box is not selected, and update options are selected. Go to Selecting translation memory settings for more information.
    Also note that, the TM will not be leveraged or updated if you press the Enter or Tab keys or if you click into another segment in the Translation window or the Outline window.

  4. After translating all the source segments, select Translation Memory > Commit all segments to TM, or click or press Ctrl+Alt+End, to update the TM before closing the file.

Clearing a target segment

To clear a target segment, place the cursor over the target segment, right-click and select Clear Target, or select Edit > Clear Target Segment, or press Ctrl+Alt+X.

Viewing last edited segment

You can view the last segment that was worked on by reopening the file and pressing Shift+F5. The cursor will be placed in the target segment that was last worked on.